In this section

We have more than 20 specialist groups who each make a unique and significant contribution to the BDA's work. They respond to national consultations, represent the profession, advance clinical specialisms, support members and so much more.

Each year the BDA says thank you to one group which has demonstrated why it should be regarded 'Specialist Group of the Year'.

Applications are open for specialist group committee members to apply until Thursday 5 May 2022. For further details on how to apply on behalf of your branch please contact

Past Winners

  • 2021 - Obesity Specialist Group
  • 2020 - Joint winners Critical Care Specialist Group and Paediatric Specialist Group
  • 2019 - Diabetes Specialist Group
  • 2018 - Oncology Specialist Group
  • 2017 - Freelance Specialist Group
  • 2016 - Renal Nutrition Specialist Group
  • 2015 - Critical Care Specialist Group (Dietitians in Critical Care)
  • 2014 - Older People Specialist Group (NAGE - Nutrition Advisory Group for Older People)